Why do I care?

Quite early on in my ‘green awakening’, someone said to me, ‘why do you care?’ They went on to say something along the lines that someone will be using the last barrel of oil, and until that happens, I may as well enjoy the benefits of fossil fuel. This is, sadly, a fairly common attitude. It reminds me a bit of something I read on another blog: At an old port south of Santiago, a dock agent was remembering the days when they could fill a 17-metre fishing boat in a few hours. Nowadays, after four days of fishing, they still can’t fill the boat. Apparently he said: “We’ve got to fish harder before it’s all gone.” And when he was asked what he would leave his son, he shrugged: “He’ll have to find something else.”

This goes back in part to what one’s worldview is. I suppose some people see nothing wrong in wringing the last bit of life out of the planet. However, that’s not what I want to do.

Now I realise the earth will be here long after mankind is gone, and that thought makes me happy in a strange way. However, I still don’t think that means we should destroy the environment in the time we have.

I want to change and try to make a difference, because it’s the right thing to do for me, and because I want to. I’m doing it because it’s smart and because I don’t want to contribute any more to a major problem that will hurt mankind. As Ghandhi said: “We must become the change we want to see in the world.”

Leave a Reply

